Watershed Kiosk Now Available to Public at the Wimberley Community Center Wimberley, Texas
Water issues continue critically important in the Wimberley Valley.

 Want to know more about the Cypress Creek Watershed, water treatment or water conservation? Then plan to explore the Cypress Creek kiosk at the Wimberley Community Center. The kiosk was unveiled during a ribbon-cutting ceremony on Tuesday, June 7, 2011 at the Wimberley Community Center, located at 14068 Ranch Road 12.

The Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority (GBRA) and the Wimberley Community Center invite the public to view the interactive kiosk, and learn more about the serious subject of water.

The kiosk displays educational modules by touch screen, and the user can listen to mini-lessons on a myriad of water subjects , such as watersheds and nonpoint source pollution, the wastewater treatment process, and the operation and maintenance of aerobic and conventional septic systems.

As explained by Cinde Thomas-Jimenez, GBRA environmental education administrator, the kiosk includes links to real-time data for Cypress Creek,. This means you'll be able to look at the current temperature, pH, dissolved oxygen, conductivity, turbidity, and flow.

Additionall  historical data, including that on bacteria, are included. The kiosk also has links to the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) Clean Rivers Program, GBRA, and the Cypress Creek Project/Watershed Protection Plan. Visitors may use the kiosk during the community center's business hours.

The Cypress Creek kiosk was designed by skilled professionals at GBRA, and funded by TCEQ through the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Clean Water Act Section 319(h) Nonpoint Pollution Grant Program.

The GBRA was established by the Texas Legislature in 1933 as a water conservation and reclamation district. GBRA provides stewardship for the water resources in its 10-county statutory district, which begins near the headwaters of the Guadalupe and Blanco rivers, ends at San Antonio Bay, and includes Kendall, Comal, Hays, Caldwell, Guadalupe, Gonzales, DeWitt, Victoria, Calhoun, and Refugio counties.